Sharing with Service Coordination

It’s a little known fact that back in the day (early 1997) Julie and I went to visit various executive directors in the Ottawa area to talk with them about our start-up of LiveWorkPlay and to figure out how we could best work together with other agencies to build a more inclusive city. We were not always welcomed, and somewhat hilariously, the head of Service Coordination responded to our overture with “It’s nice when young people have ideas.”

Well, times have changed: new leadership and new ideas! I had a great morning contributing (I hope!) to the Service Coordination staff retreat, who invited me to talk about person-centred support. Despite a very busy schedule and I am sure a great deal on their minds, it was a very attentive and enthusiastic group, and I am very encouraged by the work they are doing to help individuals and families better understand not only the challenges they are facing but also the opportunities for a good life in the Ottawa community. My presentation featured a few twists targeted to the audience, but it was not radically different from this presentation.

as.png

About Keenan Wellar

I'm a citizen of Ottawa (Ontario, Canada) and co-leader of local social change charitable organization LiveWorkPlay.ca which supports a good life for people with intellectual disabilities. I'm a very active user of social media. Find me on Facebook http://fb.me/kwellar on Twitter @SocialKeenan on LinkedIn http://tiny.cc/keenanw. I also manage organizational accounts http://fb.me/liveworkplayfans and @LiveWorkPlay. I make a lot of connections locally and worldwide with people who share my belief in inclusive communities, but I also talk sports, food, and travel, and there are few topics that offend me, so please don't be shy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

